Mid Kent – Kent Champions of Pearson Trophy 2017/18

The Kent Pearson trophy final was held at Nizels this year. Thank you to the club for agreeing to host this competition. The Nizels ladies were out in force to support and help ball spot for the matches.

Lady captain Heather Gouldstone was starter  and Vice Captain  Pat Moorecroft organized the troops on the course. Nizels would have loved to be playing, but after a closely fought winter campaign the semi finalists were Mid Kent, Bearsted, (in their first final since the 1980s), Royal Blackheath and Sundridge Park.  A colourful, but nervous lot they were on arrival in their pinks and purples.

Kent officials Cheryl Power and Marilyn Brown supported by Bobbi Ramsammy were our referees for the day, and Chris Corke our top photographer. We welcomed also Ann Billings, Margaret Northcote, Pearson Four Counties Chairman, and Chris Lohan, Kent president. All set with buggies to tour the course and watch the brilliant play. Juli and I were all set up with radios to monitor the state of play and update the scoreboard.

The day was set fair, and the course was going to be a tough track with its deep rough and fast greens. After a nourishing breakfast the players set out, with Mid Kent taking an early lead in the first semifinal. The games were closely fought but Mid Kent won this semi and went in for an early lunch. Royal Blackheath and Sundridge Park had a much closer match, winning 3 each games with the last match still on the 13th all square. Their last two ladies were then closely followed to the end by two full teams and officials round to the first extra hole. Here the Sundridge Park player sunk a great putt from the fringe to par and win the hole.

So the final was between a relaxed Mid Kent and a rather dazed Sundridge Park. Four matches were decided quite early with 2 wins each. Mid Kent then won a close match on the 18th, and the last match was conceded on the 14th also to Mid Kent. Congratulations to Mid Kent for their big win.

Thank you to players, caddies, referees, starter for making it a great day of golf. Not forgetting the spectators, of course.  Thanking Nizels staff for their great service and attention and lovely food. Thank you to Margaret Northcott, and to Chris Lohan, Kent president who presented the trophies. A small presentation and thank you was given to Juli for all her hard work as Pearson organizer for the last 4-5 years.

We wish Mid Kent good luck for the Four Counties final representing Kent on the 19th July at Crews Hill, Middlesex. Let’s hope they can follow in Redlibbets footsteps and bring back the trophy for Kent.

JACKIE AND JULI (Kent Pearson Trophy Organisers)

Annette Fraser, Mid Kent Pearson Captain, receiving the Pearson Trophy from KCLGA President Mrs Chris Lohan

Mid Kent’s Pearson Team with the Pearson Trophy. Captain Annette Fraser (reserve), Lyn Ager, Janis Bourne, Beverley Barrow (reserve), Wendy Knight, Brid McInerney, Sati Padda, Chris Waghorne, Karen Watkins

Losing Finalists Sundridge Park. Captain Sandra Nadin, Christine Edgar, Anne-Marie Forrester, Jane Skinner, Rachel Johnson, Sandy Charlick, Michele Quinlan, Rose Yazdani

Semi Finalists Bearsted. Bearsted Captain Sue Humphries, Catherine Thompson, Maureen Fox, Sandra Rooke, Brenda Wilson, Monica Fleming, Tracy Kingsland

Semi Finalists Royal Blackheath. Royal Blackheath Captain Rhona Pearson, Eileen Bryce, Carol Bingham, Connie Sheridan, Henrietta de Melo, Yasmin Ismail, Jane Brennand- Roper, Holli Rowan-Flynn



Comments are closed.